Sunday, 5 February 2012

Uncut Magazine 21: Unconditionally Guaranteed 1

UNCUT UG-2 8: Unconditionally Guaranteed 1 – February 1999

1. John Cale – Mercenaries (Ready For War) [live]
2. Willard Grant Conspiracy – Morning Is The End Of The Day
3. Lucinda Williams – Metal Firecracker
4. Cotton Mather – My Before And After
5. Booker T & The MGs* – Melting Pot
6. Red Star Belgrade – Saddest Girl
7. Sly & The Family Stone – Runnin' Away
8. Trashmonk – Girl I Used 2 Know
9. Buzzcocks – Ever Fallen In Love [session]
10. Kristin Hersh – Down In The Willow Garden
11. Dakota Suite – Ornamental
12. Specials, The – Rat Race [Peel Session]
13. Kyle Eastwood – Why Can't We Live Together?
14. Isaac Hayes – Joy (Part 1)
15. My Bloody Valentine – Lose My Breath
16. Bonnie 'Prince' Billy* – One With The Birds
17. Stooges, The – Rich Bitch [live]

Compiled by Roy Carr and Allan Jones.
Track 1: recorded June 1979 at CBGBs, NYC, and taken from the album "John Cale Sabotage/Live"
Track 9: recorded for The Jackie Brambles Show, Radio One, BBC Studios Maida Vale, London & transmitted: September 23, 1993; taken from the "Archive Series" album "The BBC Sessions"
Track 12: recorded for The John Peel Show, Radio One, BBC Studios Maida Vale 4, London, October 15, 1979, transmitted October 22, 1980; taken from the "Archive Series" album "The BBC Sessions"
Track 17: audience recording taped at the last ever Iggy And The Stooges show, Michigan Palace, Detroit, September 2, 1974, and taken from the album "Metallic KO"  

Format: mp3 @ 320kbps 
Link in Comments



  1. Some highlights from this set, and the first one that gets my toe tapping is the wonderful Beatlesque Cotton Mather with this wonderful power pop dittie from their "Kontiki" album, defiantly a three star number and of course the fantastic Booker T and the fabulous "Melting pot" 4 stars bordering on 5. You can't go far wrong with Sly and the Family stone and their "Runnin' Away" is a great track, but the recording itself sounds like someone taped it off the radio. The Specials I know well, although only their first album, but this track from their second album is pretty cool and another 3 star song. The wonderful soul jazz of "Why Can't We Live Together?" from Kyle Eastwood(Clint's son, no less) with an excellent vocal from an unknown Female singer is a real surprise and most enjoyable and gets 4 stars from me. Isaac Hayes – Joy (Part 1) is a classic.

  2. Please add working link thanks!